Wide Angle

So I’ve been immersed in this newly acquired knowledge about stocks, bonds, futures, derivatives and such because I subscribe to The Bond Gurl blog.  And I’m taking it all in – letting it marinate in my brain, all the while yearning to know what impact this financial awakening will have on my future. 

To give myself time to regroup, my plan was to take a break from the blogosphere and watch a little PBS, as I often do.  A show comes on that I’ve never watched before – Wide Angle.  

I began to watch an episode, called The Market Maker  featuring a woman named Eleni Gabre-Madhin and how she started a commodities market in Ethiopia during April of 2008. 

Eleni Gabre-Madhan

Eleni Gabre-Madhan

For a minute I thought that I might have drifted off to sleep perhaps I was in the midst of a dream.  I sat up at attention and said to myself, did they just say that a woman started a market in Ethiopia last year??  I find that fascinating.

Oh…K! Now I can’t sit still.  I can’t even wait to finish watching the program, I’ve got to turn on my pc, get on the web and find out more about this woman. Since the Bing search is on my toolbar I wasted no time opening Clusty. 

I typed in her name and the first hit on the list is a talk Eleni did on TED.com

I know you remember I promised to tell you more about TED in Gurus and Evangelists – 6 Creative People To Watch In 2010. Quite simply, TED is a small nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. TED was started to bring together people from 3 worlds Technology, Entertainment and Design.

Understand that for me finding out about Eleni this way is like serendipity. I mean come on – don’t you just love it when things come together like that?  It’s like all the planets are in alignment. 

The Bond Gurl, the stock market, PBS, Eleni, TED.com…. Now I understand why I need to know more about finance.

Share

2 responses to “Wide Angle

  1. I’m glad you are learning and getting an understanding. Someone needs to break it down to the simplest form. And, you have a great way of explaining things to me.

  2. Pingback: Tribute to PBS Programming « Ms. Ileane Speaks