Passwords For Days

I recommend that you start making a list of your passwords.

I’m not saying that you are forgetful or that you have CRS (can’t remember sh**) like me, I’m warning you ahead of time that you’re going to be signing up for a bunch of stuff and you will need to keep track of passwords and personal URLs somehow.

You see here’s the thing, in order for us to navigate the sea of social media tools and discover what works best for our individual needs we are gonna have to sign up for stuff.  I know, I know you don’t feel like it, neither did I as first.  I felt like, this is such a pain in the neck, can’t I just to go on Face Book or Twitter and call it a day. But after I blogged about social networking resourses two weeks ago, I thought it made sense to follow up on my own advice. After all, Face Book and Twitter are great ways to stay in touch with friends and followers but I wanted to take it to the next level. I wanted something more mainstream.

So here is your first assignment (don’t worry it’s going to be easy, especially if your already on Face Book). Go to the Digg site and click the “Connect with Face Book” link at the top left. Now see how easy that was? And you didn’t even need to remember another password (we’ll come back to Digg later and dress up your profile). Don’t get rid of that password list yet because the second part of your assignment is to go here and get your “Add This”  tool bar.

Say what Ms. Ileane?  Another tool bar!!?

That’s right, I said it, and I don’t care how many other tool bars you have crowding up your screen, get a bigger monitor or get rid of that Google, Yahoo or Bing search bar if necessary. 

The “Add This” toolbar is going to make it easy to post your stuff to Face Book, Twitter, Digg, et cetera, et cetera, et cerata. Now you’re starting to get the hang of it. To finish up for today, use your Add This toolbar to share your blog posts or anything else that you Digg, and don’t forget to add me as a friend there too. If you think you’re ready you can go ahead to the next lesson and sign up for any the other resources you find listed on Add This and don’t forget to save your new passwords to that list you started and let me know how you make out. On the other hand, if you’re anxious to get back to your tweets go ahead and tweet this!

Share

12 responses to “Passwords For Days

  1. Yes, of course. Years ago, I had to do it….when you record it, you don’t have to remember it….save that brain space for other things.

  2. The 10 most common passwords

    With all the talk of high-level hacking, it’s easy to forget that it is we who make ourselves most vulnerable on a very individual level. PC Magazine recently compiled a list of the 10 most common passwords in the United States today. Do not use these on confidential e-mail accounts!

    1. password

    2. 123456

    3. qwerty

    4. abc123

    5. letmein

    6. monkey

    7. myspace 1

    8. password 1

    9. blink182

    10. (your first name)

    These are the first passwords that a criminal would try when attempting to hack your account. Other types of passwords you want to avoid are birthdays and the names of your children or spouse.

    Clark has had some particularly creative passwords over the years. In the past, he’s used an employee ID number from a company he worked at in the ’70s. Then he came up with an even better idea, which he can’t divulge for obvious security reasons!

    The key is to create a password that is unrelated to anything someone might be able to find out about you if they were digging into your background. Tricky alphanumeric passwords — ones that include both letters and numbers — can work well. (Clark Howard)

  3. I totally know what you mean about the passwords. I do a terrible job with my mine. I’m always trying to remember which one goes where, and half the time I end up having them send me an email from the “forgot your password?” box.

    Great tips!

  4. I fully agree! I really need to start a list. I have CRS too! Greatful “they” have a name for it. For the longest time I thought I was the only one. 😉

  5. Hi, Ileane – So glad I found this post on Digg. Now, have you written anything on how to keep up with all the techie websites and blogs – smile? Or, would it be best to write all that information down as well. I just wanna know how the pros are staying organized.

    • Hi Sabrina,

      How’d you find this on Digg?? I don’t remember submitting it but then again, my mind is not as young as it used to be. lol

      If you take a look at link up top for WordPress.com Diigo Group, you’ll learn how to use Diigo to keep track all of those important posts and sites you run across. Let me know if you need help using it. Thanks!

  6. Once I signed up for Digg, I simply searched for you. A good number of your earlier posts came up. Remember, I didn’t find you until around October so there are a good number of posts that I hadn’t read. Going back is helping me better understand some of your more recent posts.

    I’ve been catching up on your Diigo posts as well but didn’t know I could use it for tracking purposes.

    Perfect, thanks!

    • Ok thanks for letting me know how you found me on Digg. I need to get back in there and add some of my newer posts. You can find all of my older posts right here or on my other blog Ms. Ileane’s Blog at http://msileanesblog.blogspot.com

      IMHO, using Diigo is the best way to keep track of articles you need to come back to for research or to reference in a post. I almost wish it had a different name so that people wouldn’t confuse it with Digg. Have you tried using the highlighting or sticky note features in Diigo yet? Awesome!

  7. No, I haven’t but I will. Thanks for the tips, Ileane!