Tribute to PBS Programming

[tweetmeme source=”ileane” style=”compact”] PBS is the award winning public broadcasting service that has captured our hearts and minds since the days of watching Sesame Street as a child. As adults, we continue to find quality programming on PBS that rivals cable TV. They currently have a line up of high-quality shows and specials that appeal to every interest. This show is one of my favorites.Neil deGrasse Tyson

NOVA scienceNOW

Hosted by the esteemed astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson NOVA scienceNOW is one of the most cutting-edge programs you’ll find anywhere on the planet.  One popular episode teaches us the science behind Auto-Tune, the once-upon-a-time music industry secret used to keep singers perfectly in pitch, and now made widely-popular by Jay-Z in this song D.O.A. [Death of Auto-Tune].

The Story of reCAPTCHA

In September of 2009 Google acquired reCAPTCHA, but in June of 2009 Louis von Ahn was profiled in this episode of NOVA science NOW. You can visit the PBS site and see this very intriguing story of an amazing professor from Carnegie Mellon University who created the software and the huge role you and I play in it. Here’s an excerpt from Neil’s narration during the episode:

You are part of Luis’ master plan to mobilize the largest workforce in the history of mankind, the millions of people who use the internet.

Luis began to work on a project that involved digitizing all the old books that were ever written. The problem is that some of these books are from the 1800’s and they can’t be scanned successfully because they the quality of the type is poor. Many of those old books have begun to fade and become warped, smudged and faded. So he took all the words that can’t be scanned and added them to the original CAPTCHA. That’s why you see two words in what is called a reCAPTCHA. The theory is that if you spell one word correctly (the CAPTCHA) then you most likely will spell the other word correctly (the reCAPTCHA).

Now you can understand why you find reCAPTCHA so gut-wrenchingly annoying.  You’re working on Google’s next project and once again you are not getting paid.

You can look forward to more reviews of PBS programming. What are some of your favorites?Vote on Blog Engage

Image credit: Wikipedia

Related articles by Zemanta

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
9 responses to “Tribute to PBS Programming

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  2. Amazing, you are a true scientist at heart!

    What’s this “two authors” deal you got going on here? Did you and Karen write this or are you both contributors?

    • Hi Kissnatl,

      Any guest author will be listed as an author on this blog as soon as their guest post is published. Please join us on the list at any time. I would love to see a Black History post from you before the month is out.

      Let me know if you would like to be featured.

      Thank you.

  3. Hi Ileane,

    I liked your idea of respecting the guest bloggers as authors, but Ileane, its bit difficult whom to thank for such a great post that I read recently. With whom should I ask my confusions about this post? I think, it would be better if you indicate the real author of each posts.

    • Hi,

      Now I see that this widget is causing some confusion. I’ll take it down. I wrote this post, please let me know what questions you have. I’d be happy to reply. Thanks for your feedback too.

  4. Good stuff, Ileane.
    I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Tyson back in my days at NASA. Brilliant man he is.

    PBS has been a part of my life since, well never mind that. LOL
    Let’s say I’ve been watching them for quite some time. Great programming, particularly on the science end, but also there are many sleeper Jazz concerts and such.

    • Jimi, I plan to discuss some Jazz and other cultural programs in the future. I’d love to meet Dr. Tyson or some of the other interesting Nasa people that I follow. Thanks for your feedback.

  5. I heard about recaptcha sometime back. At least the words will be real now 🙂