Fun Twitter Promotions for Your Blog

Vote on Blog Engage[tweetmeme source=”ileane” style=”compact”]Using social media to promote your blog is a must. If Twitter is your social media outlet of choice, it pays to keep up with the latest Twitter tools and applications. Some are better than others, and not to long ago I talked about using Buzzom to manage your following. Here are a couple of tools that I think are fun to try.

Twitter Meets Screenr

The Screenr Website

Check out this short podcast I created and find out how to quickly send video tweets with Screenr, a web-based video recording application from Articulate.  Screenr is surprisingly easy, fast and convenient to use.  You can create an introduction video for your newest blog post, a quick tutorial, or share a slide show featuring scenes from your vacation. Be creative, video is a great way to personalize your blog and add something unique and memorable to your twitter stream.

For more information, check out the review of Screenr that I did over at Shvoong.

Hashtags with Twubs

In his post Hashtag Heaven- Getting Started on Twitter, Gordon Cindric talks about the importance of using the # symbol as a hashtag to increase visibility of your tweets. Try using the Twubs website to track and search for topics with hastags.  Here’s the description from the the site:

Twubs are Twitter groups built around content aggregated from #hashtags.

View the full social landscape of a Twub with tools such as our Live Tweet Feed which pulls in external images, videos and links, and our Tweetups & Events Scheduler.

Start searching for your favorite topics now and take full advantage of these and many more useful Twub features toconnect and share with people of similar interests.

You can embed a Twubs widget on your website to see real-time streams of tweets including your hastag topic. I’m following #blogengage on Twubs along with a few other active members of the Blog Engage community. So far the group includes me, LaTease, GordonChuck, Heather, Karen and Will.

BlogEngage Twub Group

Won’t you join us for some #blogengage hashtag promotion fun? All you need to do is include “#blogengage” whenever you @mention a Blog Engage Member or when you Tweet or Retweet one of our posts. Check out these articles from other Blog Engage members in support of the hashtag:

Anyone is welcome to join the Twub group – or start your own hashtag group and let me know so I can add to the growing list.

Smooches!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

78 responses to “Fun Twitter Promotions for Your Blog

  1. great video, will give Twubs a shot tomorrow and see how it is. thanks,

  2. Such a great idea! I just joined the group. Now I have to remember to add the hash tags =)

  3. You always make me feel like a celebrity Ileane. Thanks for the twubs idea…that was ingenious!

    • You are so cool. I like how you set up your hashtag group for #password_protect right away. Let’s set up some more groups and keep this going. Thanks for the votes at Blog Engage too.

  4. Cool, Ileane! Thanks for the mention! Twubs is going to really come in handy. Is that Justin Geronimo I see up there?

    Take care & keep at it. You’re a force of nature!

  5. Pingback: Fun Twitter Promotions for Your Blog « Ms. Ileane Speaks | Myusasite-Entertainment|hollywood|gossip|Humor

  6. I cant wait to try screenr, I love to fool around with video, I have 11 on Youtube now which probably doesnt sound like many but I am getting better at video editing.

    • Hi Dick,

      Let me know how to find you on YouTube so I can subscribe. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Do you have a twitter account?

      • Yes i do have a youtube channel, it’s Boomerblogger and thanks for your interest. PaysonWeb is my twitter acct, one of 22 I’m afraid. 😉

  7. Thanks for the review and notice Ileane. So many cool features would go amiss if bloggers did not take the time to review. Will check it out.

    • Thanks for joining the Twub Robert. I’m finding out why hashtags are so vital.
      Thanks for the vote and the RT too.

  8. ‘Twas the night of Thanksgiving and out of the house

    Tiger Woods came a flyin’, chased by his spouse.

    She wielded a nine iron and wasn’t too merry,

    Cause a bimbo’s phone number was in his Blackberry.

    He’d been cheatin’ on Elin, and the story progressed.

    Woman after woman stepped up and confessed.

    He’d been cheatin’ with Holly, and Jaimee, and Cori,

    With Joselyn, and Kalika. The world had the story.

    From the top of the Tour to the basement of blues,

    Tiger’s sad sordid tale was all over the news.

    With hostesses, waitresses, he had lots of sex,

    When not in their pants, he was sendin’ them texts.

    Despite all his cryin’ and beggin’ and pleadin’,

    Tiger’s wife went investin’ — a new home in Sweden .

    And I heard her exclaim from her white Escalade,

    “If you’re gettin’ laid then I’m gettin’ paid.”

    She’s not pouting, in fact, she is of jolly good cheer,

    Her pre-nup made Christmas come early this year.

  9. Okay, seriously now….I’m going to have a ball I see – once I’m able to get a breather.

    Thanks for the presents! Woo Hoo!!!

  10. Hi friend,

    Just now i joined Twub … Thanks for sharing this information with us…

  11. Screenr is a blast! They take a bit for granted when you first try it because the screen opens up in step one but there are no instructions for you to go to your hard drive and pick out images, or go to Flickr, etc but I soon got the hang of it and like anything else on this crazy web, once you get into it it will be just like Ms. Ileane says, its a really unique way to personalize your blog and add something memorable to your Twitter stream. Cool stuff!

    • Hi Dick,

      You and Sarge should get together cause you guys just revealed part 2 of my Screenr training session. LOL

      You know I always do a part 2 right?

      Thanks, this is so much fun!

  12. What happened to my happy face?

  13. Great review, Ileane. I have not tried Screenr, although I was aware of it, but now feel compelled to give it a test drive.

    You’ve piqued my interest in this. 🙂

  14. Hey Ileane just tried out Screenr! Very simple and quick to use. Was surprised my speakers inside my mac worked right away too!

    Just wondering how do you save it to your desktop without publishing it first? Just gave it a test run but wouldn’t mind editing it a bit first 😉

    Sarge | BeginnerBlogger.com

  15. Hi Ileane, It’s amazing the amount of great stuff you’ve introduced me to in such a short space of time. Screenr looks awesome. Thanks & best wishes, Will

  16. Hi Ileane, great presentation! Kudos to you, I know were to come to get the latest info about the new gadgets. Season’s Greetings (Christmas) and Happy New Year!

    Peace and blessings, Rob

    • Hi Rob,

      You have always been so supportive. I really appreciate it. Happy holidays to you also. I’ll be visiting your blog real soon.

  17. Twitter.. twitter .. twitter ah! I guess I should get active der too… I liked twubs. Pretty neat 🙂

  18. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  19. Well here is my rough cut of the first Payson Web screener video promotion. I would have done better with a script but it will do until I refine it.

    It only took me about 10 takes to get it this far and once I master the pause feature, I will get a lot better.

    Point is, this is one of the most valuable tools to come across this bloggers desk in a while, it’s fun to use but addicting as well. You can spend a lot of time on it but the promotional aspects and the freedom of it are just mind boggling.

    Take a look at the demo and let me know what you think http://screenr.com/KAS

    • Screenr for petes sake!

    • This is so cool. Can I borrow the Director’s thingy (what do they call it? I’ll have to ask Kissie lol). You have the mic calibrated perfectly to your voice. I’m still working on getting the sound perfect. I can’t wait for the follow up. And the best thing is anyone can tell how much fun you are having.

      Cheers!

      • Yeah, I got that from my sis when she was visiting Hollywood and I use it a lot on my videos, it has much more impact when you can slam the whathamacallet together and say “action!” I am still working on the youtube version but holy moly, my head is spinning from the possibilities!

        • Dick,

          If you check out my channel on Blip.tv, I show you the easy way to upload your video all over the web; including YouTube and about 10 – 15 other sites. Go to http://msileanspeaks.blip.tv and watch Screencasting 101 lesson 2 and 3 (2 minutes each)

  20. I’m now a member of the #BlogEngage Twubb community 🙂 I like the idea of the Twubbs, thanks for passing on the info and, of course, thank you for inviting me to join the BlogEngage community there 🙂

    • Hi Loup,

      It’s been fun following each other around for the last couple of days hasn’t it? It gives up more ways to stay in touch (Posterous, Twitter, Blog Engage, Mixx, FriendFeed……) and helps build our social connection. Thanks for the comment and for joining the Twub. I’ll see you around!

  21. Yes, it has been fun 🙂 My blog is slowly getting back on its feet as I had to start it all over gain after the previous version had been deleted… I still have a few things to add to it to make it more “promoteable” (I know, I need to add the BlogEngage button… long overdue, that) so my “to do” list for the New Year is very long already… but, I’m sure I’ll find some room (and time) for some screencasts as well 😉

    Talk soon..

  22. Very helpful thanks and keep up the good work.

  23. Pingback: The Web2Marketer

  24. great tips . honestly i am planning to have a new twitter account that using my name . i will also create a special page on it

  25. Ileane, I’ve been thinking of a way to do a training at work and you have given me the answer.

    I’ll send you a copy of the video too.

    Thank you so much for this….looks like you’re helping me at work also. 😉

    Hey, what happened with Mr. Excel?

  26. Is my computer slow? It’s taking some time to publish, I didn’t read about that in the post. It’s still uploading – I guess.

    On to the next lesson while I wait.

  27. SCREENR is great, I love the concept.
    No plugins or application to download. Just record and publish.

    Thanks for sharing

    • Hey John, You’re an old pro when it comes to making videos so I expect to see a video tweet from you very soon. Thanks for stopping by.

  28. Keep up with the vids, Ileane. I watch them while running on the treadmill to distract me from, well, how much I hate running on the treadmill.

    You give me something to think about.

    Now, if you could just make them exactly 30 minutes long… 🙂

    • Alison, if you are subscribing on iTunes can to give me a rating. I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

      • I’m just coming to your blog and watching from there. I do subscribe to some podcasts on iTunes, so of course I will sub to yours. I haven’t voted for any there. Tell me how and I’ll vote you up!

  29. Alison,
    You can open iTunes and search for “Ms. Ileane Speaks”. When you find the show, you can add a rating after you login.

    I would really appreciate it. Thanks!

  30. I don’t think I have heard of twubs until now. Will have to check it out.

  31. Would love your comment on the post I did after finding Twubs on your blog http://blog.paysonweb.com/post/323592405/confessions-of-a-rookie-twubber

  32. I had never heard of both of them Screenr or Twubs, I will surely check them now

  33. Great, I hope you enjoy them, please come back and let me know.

  34. Great blog! Very useful info!

  35. Pingback: So You Want To Start Blogging | The Podcast Blog

  36. Thanks for the mention Ms Ileane..I am joining the Official Blog engage Twub.

  37. Pingback: Brand Building for Blogs and Podcasts | The Podcast Blog

  38. Pingback: Hootsuite Tutorial Video | The Podcast Blog

  39. Pingback: Searching For The Perfect Tweet « Ms. Ileane Speaks

  40. Pingback: YouTube Activity Sharing Settings | The Podcast Blog

  41. Being new to IM, I am still learning all the ways of promoting a site…it seems the list is endless. however, I have decided to use Twitter, Facebook, YouTube and POdcast. Discover this site by searching google. It is inforrmational!

  42. Pingback: YouTube Activity Sharing Settings | Basic Blog Tips

  43. Pingback: Starting a Blog | Basic Blog Tips

  44. Pingback: HootSuite Video Tutorial

  45. I just started blogging only a few days ago. As I was already large on twitter I found I had a lot of views straight away!

  46. I have been reading out a few of your stories and it’s pretty clever stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your website.